Western Kurdistan’s Governmental Model Comes Together

6-1-2014 – Today 61 members of the Legislative Assembly of the Democratic Autonomous Government of Western Kurdistan met in Amûde where they accepted the “Social Agreement” which will divide the region into 3 cantons. The agreement declares Syria to be a democratic, free and independent country and affirms that all three cantons remain a part of Syria.

The Legislative Assembly of the Democratic Autonomous Government of Western Kurdistan, after accepting the “Social Agreement,” has also agreed on a governmental model. A 101-seat assembly will be formed, and the administration of each canton will be aided in part by twenty ministries each. The model is outlined in 51 articles based on four different foundations: the Canton system, the Legislative Assembly, the Administration, and the Justice and High Election Commission.

Among other stipulations outlined by the model is a quota of 40% for women’s participation in government, as well as another quota for youth. Separately in connection with a decision to introduce affirmative action for Syriacs, all governmental organizations and offices will be based on a co-presidential system.

According to the model the 101-seat parliament will provide a representative for every 15 thousand voters. The party that receives the most votes will be able to form the government. The age of voting was set at 18.

The council also agreed on the formation of 20 ministries. A list of the ministries can be found below:

-Foreign Ministry –  -Legitimate Defense Ministry –  -Interior Ministry – -Justice Ministry – Ministry Regional, Municipality, Population and Urban Affairs – -Ministry of Finance – -Ministry of Work and Workers’ Placement – Ministry of Education – Ministry of Agriculture – Ministry of Electricity, Industry and Natural Resources – -Ministry of Health – Ministry of Trade and Economy – Ministry of Martyrs’ Families – Ministry of Information and Communication – Ministry of Transportation – Ministry of Youth and Sport – Ministry of Tourism and Archeology – Ministry of Religion – Ministry of Women and Family Affairs – Ministry of Human Rights