Turkey on alert against 47 Al-Qaeda groups in Syria

2-1-2014 – Al Monitor – Many al-Qaeda-affiliated armed groups are involved in the Syrian civil war. The Turkish intelligence services have identified 47 Islamic terror organizations with different names in the area. Most prominent among them are Jabhat al-Nusra and the Islamic State of Iraq and al-Sham (ISIS).

According to information obtained by Milliyet, Turkish intelligence units that have been working in Syria to prevent terrorist acts against Turkey. After learning that al-Qaeda groups could launch attacks not only in border towns but elsewhere in Turkey, all security forces have been put on alert. Measures have been taken in cities while intelligence services have intensified their surveillance of al-Qaeda-affiliated groups.

In the meantime, license plates from Turkish vehicles — especially those belonging to pickup trucks — are reportedly “cloned” and taken to Syria. Milliyet had reported earlier that radical Islamic terror organizations, especially ISIS, were rigging pickup trucks with explosives and using the cloned license plates in operations in Turkey.

Although al-Qaeda leader Ayman al-Zawahri declared the termination of ISIS operations in Syria, the organization is still active. Following are the names of radical Islamic terror organizations that operate in the area, in addition to Jabhat al-Nusra and ISIS:

The al-Nasr brigade, the Fattullah brigade, the Lailaheillah brigade, the al-Zilzal brigade, the Ali Bin Abi Talib battalion, the Mergede battalion, the Diree al-Jazeera battalion, the al-Adiiet battalion, the Military Battalion of Mehemediye State, the al-Ahrar battalion, the Shedade battalion, the Jund al-Heremen battalion, the Jundullah battalion, the Ahrar al-Tewaif battalion, the Sirrin battalion, the al-Sunni battalion, the Mariee battalion, the Aisha battalion, the Ahrar al-Sham battalion, the Ahrar Abu Rasen battalion, the Ahrar al-Harb battalion, the Oussama Bin Zeyd battalion, the al-Qarie battalion, the Allahuakbar battalion, the Revolutionary Fedaiin battalion, the Martrys of al-Zahiriye battalion, the Ibn al-Qain battalion, the al-Taife al-Mansurah battalion, the al-Muwahedin battalion, the Anwar al-Haq battalion, the Ahrar al-Shedadi battalion and the Sarayan al-Madina al-Munawere battalion.
Read more: