The body of Christ cannot be gluten-free.
11 July 2017 – New York Times – That’s the word from the Vatican. Communion wafers and other unleavened bread cannot be made from rice, potato or other wheat substitutes that are completely free of the protein. But products that use so little wheat starch that they can be legally labeled “gluten-free” are fine.
The Anglican Communion has a similar position, while some other Christian denominations do allow truly gluten-free bread.